A lasagne without bay leaves just isn’t a lasagne

DSC_0008There is one thing I know from my Mum’s lasagne recipe, and that is bay leaves are the golden ingredient. Without bay leaves you may as well not bother. I learned this the hard way when I made the lasagne above. The bechamel just didn’t taste right making the whole thing seem simply pointless.
So after my failed attempt, what did I get as a package from my Mum on my brief visit to England? A bundle of fresh bay leaves fresh from the garden in a zip seal bag to take back to Switzerland. Second time round was a vast improvement. Its incredible what difference one tiny ingredient can make. This one also had lots of added vegetables, including red peppers and courgettes, yet another good way to use up stuff in the fridge. There are countless recipes out there with variational twists on the classic lasagne. I keep mine basic but from now on will never forget bayleaves!DSC_0010

Leave a Reply

