Dorset and Camp Bestival

DSC_0366We made it all the way to Fleet near Weymouth in time to wander into the local village pub, to be harassed by a blonde floozy in the beer garden, a retriever that saw Seb and I as its new owners. It was a 5 mile walk in the dark back to the tent which was a great adventure after local cider. We stayed only one night before moving on to Wimbourne.  We spent an afternoon at Tower Park, cooking bacon in the Tesco car park before heading into Splashdown.  I haven’t been there for many years, you cant beat a good indoor water park for entertainment.
We explored the old town in Poole and went on to Bournemouth but the horrific rains had returned once again.  We headed in to Dorchester for some Sunday Lunch and went on to Cerne Abbas to see the giant, which was a great sight.
We then headed on to Lulworth for Camp Bestival.  The cove was beautiful but the winds were tremendous it was a battle trying to get down to Durdle Door, but I managed to land this photo for my yoga page once its up and running.DSC_0374
We stopped the local bin men to ask how they had managed to gather so much litter from the cove.  They informed us that they gather over a quarter of a ton of waste every 3 days from the small area.  I still cannot believe that people are so thoughtless as to litter anywhere let alone one of the world’s most beautiful world heritage sites.  The Jurassic coast in my eyes, despite how many places in the world I visit, will remain one of the most picturesque and West Lulworth is probably still my favourite place on Earth. I’m a true geography geek.

DSC_0449 DSC_0458

The Wall of Death at Camp Bestival is hands down one of the coolest things I have ever seen in my life.  Your heart is in your mouth for five whole minutes, I envy the riders for their bravery, yet I would not want to be in their shoes, or seats, night after night.  The jousting was pretty spectacular too, you can see more photos from the festival in the gallery section.  The jousting was superb, never have I seen children get so behind the pantomime esque booing and hissing!

DSC_0511

Other than seeing the Wurzels (whose drummer is in his 80’s!) I only managed to see one act at the entire festival,  Dan le Sac vs Scroobius Pip. They were incredible, a whole year on since I saw them last, their lyrics are clever and their baselines almost anthemic, perfect for festival crowd.

Leave a Reply

